One Poem… Two Versions

I drafted this recently, and it has changed quite a bit, especially in line and stanza breaks. I was working in couplets primarily. I am trying it as a single stanza here to see how it sits. Another version is below…

 

Father

 

You are the way I clench my teeth

without feeling connected–

the bit sticks in my jaw, follows

jugular to pools of fused clavicles;

the way I bite the insides

of my mouth, making maps to you;

or lick and chap my lips:

dry and worn working hands

clapped together, praying for release,

Amen.

***

Father

 

You are the way I clench my teeth

without feeling connected

 

the bit sticks in my jaw, follows

jugular to pools of fused clavicles;

 

the way I bite the insides

of my mouth, making maps to you;

 

or lick and chap my lips:

dry and worn working hands

 

clapped together, praying for release,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

